Dansk Stålinstitut - Vidensdeling om stål
President of DSI Honered
Dato: 29-10-2019

President of the Danish Steel Institute appointed Honorary Member of the IASS


Ulrik Støttrup-Andersen, Technical Director, Towers and Telecom, has been appointed Honorary Member of the IASS (International Association for Shells and Spatial Structures). 

Ulrik Støttrup-Andersen has been secretary for 20 years and the chairman of the IASS Technical Expert Working Group for Masts and Towers (WG 4) for 18 years. During this time, he has massively contributed to the area of masts and towers, bringing extraordinary service to the IASS. 

Today, the IASS WG 4 is the only international forum within masts and towers with approximate 100 members worldwide. The overall mission of the IASS WG 4 is to encourage and synthetise presentations, reports, and publications on projects, designs, and research related to telecommunication towers and masts. 

One of the IASS WG 4’s goals is to produce design guidance. So far, its recommendations form the basis of several international design codes and have considerably influenced the European and North American practice.

Klaus Jacob Jensen, Global Division Director, Wind & Towers, says:
“We are delighted to have Ulrik as an Honorary Member of the IASS. The IASS WG 4 cultivates strategic initiatives for masts and towers therefore, it is important to have our leaders standing in front of these developments. The knowledge exchange in this group is crucial to maintaining our position as world class experts in the field of towers and telecom”.

Building a strong legacy 
Ulrik is the second person from Ramboll to be appointed Honorary Member of the IASS. Ib Mogensen, one of the founders of Ramboll Foundation and former managing director at Ramboll, is the only Honorary Member from Ramboll besides Ulrik.

Flemming Bligaard Pedersen, chairman of the Ramboll Foundation, adds:
“It is a great honour for Ramboll to have Ulrik as an Honorary Member of the IASS, following Ib Mogensen’s steps. I have been working close with both Ib and Ulrik during my career and I know their work has largely contributed to the development of masts and towers. This field is part of Ramboll’s core and very close to Ulrik’s heart”. 

Ramboll’s leadership of the IASS WG 4 continues with Mogens G. Nielsen as chairman and Rasmus Magdal Christensen as technical secretary. 

Ramboll is a collective member of the IASS.

Source: Mogens G. Nielsen, Ramboll